UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-06-08 - 2:33 p.m.

(Here�s a second entry for today just because. Click below on the word "previous" for the first one)

TOMORROW FINALLY COMES

(The sun�ll come out tomorrow, bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow, there�ll be sun...)

The sun really does exist. Today, June 8, 2001, I have proof. I feel like I�ve discovered a continent or a new asteroid or something.

For the last three weeks or more, it has been harder for a Milwaukean to believe in the sun than for an atheist to believe in God. Our sky color has ranged from dark gray to light gray with an occasional almost-green to break up the monotony. It�s a jungle out there because the grass has been too wet to mow. The spaces between my toes are moldy.

When I moved back to the Midwest, I knew that I was signing on for long, gray winters. I expect depression by February or March just because my longing for sunshine, even cold sunshine, has been frustrated so long. But I didn�t sign on for Mays and Junes when �the sky is a hazy shade of winter.�

So my heart, body, and brain all are singing because today, just in time for summer vacation, we have sunshine. Sometimes it takes a lot to keep me happy but today is not one of those days.

WE HAVE SUN!

(Note: The song �Tomorrow� is from the musical �Annie.�)

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!