UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-06-09 - 10:49 a.m.

MUSTARD AND IRON AND RAPTORS, OH MY!

I�ve had a Monopoly set out in my living room for days now. (Housekeeping is low priority around here.) Day-Hay and Kat have been playing Monopoly. But Day-Hay and Kat do not usually play board games so it didn�t surprise me to discover that this was no ordinary Monopoly game.

Somehow it is all linked to the Clue board that is also on the floor. At first, as near as I could tell, Colonel Mustard might have done it to get Boardwalk, which apparently belongs to Ms. Peacock. Then I realized that, whoever it was, the police would get them with their cannon and revolver. I know that the police have such weapons because I found a slip of paper that tells me so. It also tells me that the iron is really a maid. If Miss Scarlet, who seems to be an innkeeper, wonders why nothing is getting cleaned perhaps her maid is set to low.

The Jurassic Park game also is a part of this whole scheme. The raptors are engineers although I�m not sure what kind. (I do hope that they are civil engineers. I�d love that irony.)

If anyone can tell me how the deck of cards fits in, I�d appreciate it. Perhaps they are not linked but merely coincidental. I could go complain to the T-rex. He seems to be the mayor of this town. That area with the cards could use a little urban renewal.

I look around and I see creativity. Unfortunately, Mr. Philately soon will come through the door and all he will see is a mess�the same mess he�s been trying to get cleaned up for days. I can hear the screams of the thimble now as the final edict is read and the town is closed. (Unfortunately, I�ll probably hear the screams of Day-Hay too.) He�ll huff and puff and talk of proper uses of board games that no one here plays anyway.

But, for now, one walks carefully through the living room, trying to avoid little pieces and slips of paper, and mutters, �Mustard and iron and raptors, oh my!�

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!