UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-06-28 - 6:44 a.m.

THE STATE OF THE OFFICE ADDRESS

Some people report on important things. Under the microscope, the small things are the important things. Presidents give a state of the union address, governors give a state of the state address, and all I can think to give is a state of the office address.

Although my home often seems decorated in early tornado, my office usually could belong to Mr. Clean�as long as Mr. Clean needs cataract surgery and therefore misses some dust. I knew there was a contrast between the two places but I didn�t realize how much until yesterday.

Yesterday, a file commandeered my office. It needed reorganizing and, as all my co-workers passed by, I was at that cleaning stage where things must look exponentially worse before they can look any better. The file had billeted court orders, briefs, and correspondence all over the floor, the bookshelves, the desk, and the pictures of my kids.

�If I go to lunch, will I be able to find you when I get back?� asked one amazed co-worker. I started to explain my schedule when I suddenly realized that this apparent concern for my comings and goings really was a comment on the state of my office. (I often start to explain things very earnestly before I notice that I�m being kidded. If they ever intent a tease detector, I�ll buy it if it�s reasonably priced.)

One by one, my co-workers commented on the mess. They were so sure it was out of character. You�d think these people had never been to my house. Actually, come to think of it, most of them have come to my house but only after I�ve tortured the children and husband into straightening up. No wonder they were so surprised.

Eventually, I won the battle and re-captured the file. I imprisoned it back in the file cabinet with its comrades and shredded what it left behind.

And once again the state of my office is just fine.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!