UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-06-30 - 8:37 a.m.

SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL CHILD

I am rejuvenated. I am renewed. I am relaxed�and I didn�t even have to leave home to achieve this blissful state. I�ve just patronized Day-Hay�s Relaxation Room and all it cost me was a dollar: 25 cents for my head massage, 25 cents for my shoulders and neck, and 25 cents each for my feet. Yes, you guessed it, Day-Hay�s in business again.

This kid has entrepreneurial spirit and great sales ability. She gets neither talent from me. Her dad does a good job of running a solo law practice but he�s not half the salesperson she is. She even convinced her sister to part with $3.50 for seventeen-minute backrub and we all know Kat is a tightwad with her own money.

Sometimes Day-Hay uses her money-making talents for the greater good. When my girl scout troop was collecting cans for Second Harvest at the opening of Milwaukee�s new baseball stadium, the girls were told that people could make cash donations too. Several of the girls collected a few dollars from people. Day-Hay collected close to $25. I�m told that each time someone said to her, �I wish I�d remembered to bring food for the hungry,� she brightly replied, �Well, we take cash too. Even a little bit would help.� I wish I�d seen it but she was off in another area with another chaperone. There�s only so much of mom she wants at her age.

Right now though, her talents are turned to funding her American Girl habit. She is saving money for accessories for her doll. (American Girl dolls are like Barbies except much larger, more wholesome, and more expensive. They make you pay for the snob appeal I guess.)

So, once again we have to be careful Day-Hay doesn�t charge us for doing chores or we don�t get suckered into paying exorbitant sums for her to pull weeds. (That penny-a-weed deal sure adds up fast at our house.) When she gets really enthusiastic, it can begin to feel like you have a telephone solicitor after you except this one is smaller and appears in person and you can�t hang up. I may pay for massages but I am not paying 25 cents for her to lead me in a stretching exercise.

Still, a local massage parlor is a good thing�as I suspect Martha Stewart would agree. I just hope no one complains about the zoning violation.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!