UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-07-21 - 8:37 a.m.

SHEER BLONDE

What is it about blondes? When did we decide that blonde hair was special? Just how special is it? Well, blondes have their own shampoo called Sheer Blonde. One of the most amazing things is that it does give blondes nice highlights.

Some of you may be wondering how I would know such a thing. Those of you who know Kat aren�t wondering at all, although you may be wondering how petite, dark, short-legged me ended up with a leggy blue-eyed blonde. Aren�t recessive genes interesting things? The rest of you may be wondering how I would know (or care) enough about blondes to find this special shampoo. Let me assure you that Kat did the homework on this one.

All of which, however, does not answer the central question here. Why are blondes considered so special? I�m not immune to this syndrome yet I can�t answer this basic question. I�ve never wanted to be a blonde myself and yet I was pleased to have a blonde daughter. (Please don�t misunderstand me. I was not displeased to have a dark-haired, dark-eyed younger daughter who looks like me.) Somehow it felt special.

Kat herself has had a love-hate relationship with her hair over the years. More than once, she�s felt insulted by people who have told her she doesn�t look Jewish. She once turned down the part of Goldilocks in a class play because she thought the teacher was only giving it to her because she was blonde. The teacher said she was giving her the part because Kat is a good actress with a wonderful recall of lines.

Although Kat was one of a mob of blondes in kindergarten, she is one of a very few left now. Her hair has darkened but it�s gone from almost white to a honey color. She says she�d never use a bottle but considers sitting out in the sun (and Sheer Blonde) fair game. At times I wonder how it would affect her self image if she ends up with light brown hair. (I�m quite sure that she will not end up with dark hair.)

We even tease her occasionally about the blonde hair. For fun, she can do a very cute blonde ditz routine. She can have fun with it in part because no one doubts her intelligence. Still, why do we as a society expect blondes to be dumb?

I was going to say something profound to end this entry but I�ve forgotten what it was. I guess I had a blonde moment---which is pretty strange considering I�m a brunette.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!