UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-07-23 - 8:09 a.m.

TAKING STOCK

Is there a gene for love of economics? If so, is it recessive? My mother has a master�s degree in economics. My aunt and my brother have Ph.Ds in economics. I have very little interest in economics at all-----and yet, I�m seeing signs of this interest in one of my children.

Day-Hay is very mathematical. She also loves the concept of money and business. Because she�s only eleven, it surprised me the other day when she suddenly came to us and wanted to know what mutual funds, T-bills, and such are. It amazed me even more when she listened with interest to the detailed explanations her dad gave her.

I�ve enjoyed watching Day-Hay get a handle on money. Until quite recently, she was a spendthrift. She�d get her allowance and spend it on junk. This past year she suddenly discovered the notion of saving for a more expensive junk. What impressed me was how she accomplished it. She decided that having money in her hand was too tempting. She therefore requested that we just write down her allowance amount and keep a total on a piece of paper. She asked that we give her money when she presented the paper and asked for it. She didn�t do it often (although she cleaned out her paper account the other day because American Girl was having a sale) but when she did we gave her the money and subtracted it from the total.

Now she and Mr. Philately have decided to investigate the prospect of investing in General Mills. Day-Hay figures there must be a lot of people other than toddlers and her mother who are addicted to Cheerios. If not, she suspects that we alone can keep General Mills doing well. She has great faith in my ability to eat lots and lots of Cheerios. I have more faith in her ability to keep the Pleasant Company* rolling in sales but it�s her stock to pick.

I don�t think I�ve ever had much of an interest in stock myself. I�ve learned something about stock over the years because I�ve thought it part of a real education in finance. I�m contented to let Mr. Philately handle the investments after consulting with me because I know I am too risk averse. (I handle our insurance so it�s not that I can�t handle the hassle or the complexity.)

It�s a little disconcerting when you find your eleven year old taking more stock of stock than you do.

*The Pleasant Company makes American Girl dolls. American Girl dolls are like Barbies in that they have all these accessories but they are more wholesome and much more expensive.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!