UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-08-25 - 8:13 a.m.

(Kat started high school this week. I was going to write an entry about her adventures but she wrote them up so much better than I could that I'm using her entry. Here's Kat---in her own voice:)

CASUAL FRIDAY

I like suitcase locks. I like bagel lox. I like key locks. I like door locks (especially on my door!). But I hate combination locks.

Why, you ask, am I bringing this up?

It all began this morning, when I purchased the combination lock for my gym locker. The combination was simple, my gym clothes were fresh, and I hadn't a care in the world. Still, just to make sure, I checked the combination just to make sure it worked. It did. I changed into my gym clothes, stuck my everyday clothes in my locker, affixed the lock to the the locker, and skipped off to gym.

Forty minutes and way too much physical activity later, I returned to the locker room. I was sweaty, hot, exhausted--and my legs were screaming bloody murder. I trudged over to my locker, grabbed the lock, tried the combination, and...it wouldn't open. I tried it again...still the same result. Five stressful minutes later, I finally went to the gym teacher.

"Houston," I said, "We have a problem!"

The gym teacher couldn't open my locker either. So, she sent me back to class while she stayed behind to figure out the combination conundrum, and told me to come back at lunchtime. Which would be fine by me, except I was still HOT, SWEATY, AND IN MY GYM CLOTHES!

As I walked into algebra, a few questioning eyes greeted me. I handed the algebra teacher my pass and muttered, "Don't ask about the clothes."

"I wasn't going to," he said. "But you look comfortable." I'm glad someone thought so.

Later on, my friend Drea came up to me. "What's with the clothes?"

"I'm celebrating Casual Friday," I snapped.

At 11:05 sharp I went back to the gym teacher's office. As I came in, she grinned. "Your clothes weren't in locker 85," she said,"they were in locker 84."

Somebody slap me now!

I tried the lock on locker 84, and, sure enough, the gym teacher was right. The lock opened fine. However, the locker didn't. I tugged and pulled, but to no avail. I finally had to request help from a classmate. She barely touched the offending door before it sprang open. Insult. I changed back into my everyday clothes, feeling very relieved. However, I gave the locker door a parting slam. Of course, it HAD to rebound and whack my hand. Injury added to insult!

At least it's over, and I think I'll survive without too much trauma. But I think it's changed me forever in two major ways:

a) I'll never again forget that my locker number is 84.

b) I'll never look at Casual Friday quite the same way!

(This entry is posted courtesy of someone's laptop. The guerilla poster strikes again!)

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!