UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-09-05 - 6:12 a.m.

IN OUT OF THE RAIN

My younger daughter has enough sense to come in out of the rain. I suspected she did but I never actually knew before. I�ve long ago learned that you can�t always tell which kids will do well in emergencies. Kat used to panic when adults were around so I would not have guessed, for example, that when Kat had her bike accident, breaking several teeth and an arm and cracking the helmet, she would be the one to be calm and direct rescue efforts while her friend panicked. And now I know for sure that Day-Hay has enough sense to come in out of the rain. I�m a happy mom.

Monday, while Day-Hay was out on her bicycle about a mile away, a sudden and wicked storm brewed up. The sky darkened almost instantaneously, the wind blew as hard as it could on short notice, the rain bucketed down, and the lightening began. Day-Hay immediately headed for the nearest house that contained someone she knew and then called me from there so I would not get worried.

Actually, it was too late for me not to get worried. Storms make me anxious under the best of circumstances and these were not the best of circumstances. Still, the call did stop me from worrying. I would have taken off in my car to find Day-Hay but she travels a fairly wide territory on that bike and I couldn�t be sure where to start. I decided I just had to trust luck and her sense and stay put. Sometimes events are largely out of a parent�s hands, especially as children get older.

After she arrive home, she assured me she had headed for the nearest house where she knew people and would have gone �even to a boy�s house, Mom.� We discussed again what to do if a storm gets really intense and going for shelter is not a viable option. She�s listened when I�ve talked about the dangers of trees and the need to crouch in open fields.

Parenting has always required a much larger measure of luck than many parents will admit but it�s reassuring to know there�s a lot of good sense on my side too�mine, Mr. Philately�s and Day-Hay�s.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!