UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-09-25 - 6:32 a.m.

THE LEAST WRONG ANSWER

Why does it seem that so many times in life we have to make our choices among bad ones. I remember scoffing at the concept of �the least wrong answer� on standardized tests. Now it seems as though most of the decisions I have to make as a school board member involve choosing the least wrong answer.

We currently have two senior kindergartens. Each is made up of 24 kids, a teacher, and an aide. The parents and the teachers would like to have three classes made up of 16 kids, a teacher, and an aide. Unfortunately, our state-mandated budget caps make it impossible to spend the extra money that would require. We just don�t have the money.

The question therefore has become whether it is best to have the current class configuration or whether it would be better to have three classes of 16 kids, a teacher, and one floating aide between all three classes. Those two options appear to cost roughly the same amount. One answer suggests that the classes of 16 would be better because the kids over-stimulate each other. That answer makes some sense to me if over-stimulation is the big problem. I�m not sure that it is.

At the same time, I am told that the classes of 16 would be better because they would allow for more individualization of academics. I am finding it hard to figure out how that would be�unless some people are baloney-slicing. Baloney-slicing is what some would call �the foot in the door technique.� You start by asking for, and getting, what seems like a small thing. In this case, it would work by getting the three classes and then coming back and trying to get the aides on the grounds that it is necessary because the one teacher can�t individualize enough with a 16:1 ratio.

The next question is, if we go to three classes, which children will move. I suspect that all (or at least most) of the parents are assuming that someone�s else�s child will be moved to make the third class. I intend to ask the parents assembled at tonight�s meeting which of them is prepared to move their own child. If no one indicates a willingness to move, I may have my answer. No matter how we do this, at least 16 of the 48 kids will have had three teacher by November. (We have to accommodate a teacher who is on maternity leave.)

Unfortunately, the quiz is tonight and I still have not decided for sure on the least wrong answer�and I can�t just skip it and come back to it. Unfortunately, this quiz is only the first of many as we move into major budget cutting over the coming year. I think I�m going to have to make my peace with the concept of the least wrong answer. Thank you standardized testing for introducing me to real life.

(The meeting went fairly late last night. I ended up voting for the status quo because, even assuming three classes was better in general, I was not willing to sacrifice the 16 kids who would have three teachers to the other 32. The status quo lost.)

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!