UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-09-30 - 7:49 a.m.

HAIR HEAVEN

Day-Hay bought a hairagami. A hairagami is something like a slap bracelet for hair that allows you to make wonderful, assorted buns. It requires practice so we�ve been having a hair fest around here. I�m in heaven.

I loved playing with hair styles when I was growing up. I put my hair up, I curled it, I wrapped it various ways and then I came downstairs�and people laughed. I wanted to play in my sisters� hair but they were usually too busy�and at least one of them laughed.

I taught myself to cut hair. I preferred cutting wavy hair because it was easiest and hid some mistakes. I cut my own hair and the hair of one of my sisters. At that point, she didn�t laugh any more. After I met Mr. Philately, I cut his hair and I still do, making sure to layer it so it doesn�t curl up strangely. In the early days, there might have been times he considered crying but he didn�t laugh.

And now I have daughters who let me play with their hair. Kat loves people playing with her hair. Day-Hay not only lets people play with her hair but she also plays with their hair. She tries style after style. She braids her own hair when wet in hopes that the waves will stay in most, if not all, of the day. She puts in ponytails. She tries clips. She buys hairagamis. And I don�t laugh, not at her. If I laugh at all, I laugh with her. I laugh because we are having fun.

Don�t get the wrong idea. I know that hair and makeup and looks are not essentials of life. I know that what is inside matters far more than what is outside. My girls seem to know it too. So far, both of them seem to have their heads on straight. With any luck, they will stay that way.

Still, I love the fluffy stuff sometimes�and I love having daughters. So bring on the hairagami so I can play with my kids. And don�t you dare laugh!

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!