UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-03-27 - 5:45 p.m.

COMING IN SECOND

I have spent much of my life coming in second�good enough to be in the running but not good enough to win. Much of my life, it has been frustrating. Yes, there is an honor to being nominated or getting into the final round of interviews but the honor wears thin when time after time one gets one�s hopes up only to have them dashed. But for once, I�m feeling good about my tendency to come in second. For once, it may come in handy. The school board election takes the top two of three candidates.

In between tasks done in preparation for the Passover seder (or ritual meal), I have been campaigning. One of the costs of this campaign would be in shoe leather if I didn�t already need a new pair of shoes. I was wandering a neighborhood in our district distributing campaign literature and I heard interesting things. I am feeling more hopeful about this election than I had been. It seems that while I am not the first choice of a lot of people, I am their second choice. While Candidate L and Candidate W are duking it out, I might just slip in.

Until today, this campaign seemed really difficult emotionally. Campaigning is very hard work, particularly when you are someone who finds it difficult to sell yourself. I have had to give myself several stern talkings-to in an attempt to push myself into making campaign phone calls. Outwardly, I have projected reasonable confidence. Inwardly, I�m still the little girl who never could get elected to student counsel or chosen early in gym. I�ve kept waiting for the axe to fall.

I do wish that the election were today and not next Tuesday. Yes, I know I still have some literature to distribute and some calls to make. But I�m feeling lucky that my signs are not disappearing and other nasty things that seem to be going on between Candidate L. and Candidate W. seem to have nothing to do with me. Occasionally, it is good to be seen as not important enough and as someone everyone could compromise on.

So, if you�re not in my district (and I assume most of you aren�t), hold a good thought for me on April 2nd. On April 3rd, I�ll let you know how it all comes out.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!