UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-09-12 - 7:31 a.m.

SECOND STRING

I want to punch the theater teacher at Kat�s high school. I don�t often turn into Mama Bear and I don�t think I�m very good in the role. If I tried out for it, I wouldn�t get it. Of course, in his program no one except the top five kids get any roles anyway. He touts the breadth and professionalism of his program to anyone who will listen. The part I should have listened to was the part where he talked about his varsity team. Varsity would be fine if he had a junior varsity. He doesn�t. He used to but now he considers it too much work.

I could rant, perhaps, with Kat but I won�t. I�ll keep my mouth shut for fear of making things worse. Theoretically, when the cast list is posted tomorrow, Kat could have a small part in �Midsummer�s Night Dream.� But I seriously doubt she will. While he always says that you can get a part without having had a callback, I�ve only seen it happen once.

In any event, she really likes this man. She works her tail off for him behind the scenes on stage crew. She�ll build his sets and run his lights and hang out hoping for a few theater crumbs. It makes me sick but I believe in tech theater so I�ll post this piece and hope she never stumbles across it. (Or, if she does, that she will understand that I am just venting.)

Perhaps this rant, this wish to protect, this anger is not entirely about the high school theater program. I�ve noticed that ever emotion seems more raw this week for me and those around me. Perhaps we are all just a few emotional steps away from unhinged.

But I�m not convinced. I�d still like to tell Mr. Theater Teacher to stop giving her hope unless he means it. I�d still like to tell him that if his goal is to develop the arts he is doing a very poor job for the majority of kids. And I�d like to tell him even more.

No, it�s more primal than that. I�d like to punch him. But I won�t. I might hurt my knuckles and my dignity.

So it�s my turn to act, especially when I see Kat tonight. Let�s just hope I�m good enough for second string�and that there is a second string team around here.

LAST YEAR: Unfocused

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Infinity
Little Orphans Annie (by Day-Hay)
Here I Am
L�Shana Tova
Crisp

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!