UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-07-18 - 12:57 p.m.

THEY

Once again, THEY--- the anonymous THEY, the faceless THEY, the THEY way out there�has �improved� a product that I use. It is bad enough that I have to pay more than most for this product. It doesn�t have to taste bad too�and it didn�t until THEY got ideas. I did not need additional incentive to forget to take calcium tablets but I have have it. Obviously, THEY don�t care about my health.

Of course, if THEY really and truly cared about my health THEY would have improved vitamins long ago so that I could take them in �normal� form. I have had to take chewable vitamins, when I take them, for years. Maybe I always did but I just did not discover the problem until I was an adult.

In my early twenties, my doctor recommended taking a daily vitamin. Being an adult, I bought adult vitamins. After all, I could swallow pills. There was no reason for a chewable�or so I thought. With that first vitamin came the first inkling of the problem. The coating on almost all vitamins irritates my stomach. Vitamins will visit but they won�t stay. I tried other brands. No luck until I tried the chewables. It�s the coating, not the vitamin.

When I was pregnant, the problem arose again. After trying virtually every prenatal vitamin on the market, we finally found one that I could take. It only complained about its new home. It didn�t leave. When I was pregnant with Day-Hay, I was very relieved to find that the brand still existed and still stayed down.

Which brings us to the calcium. When my current doctor encouraged me to take calcium, I figured that calcium tablets were not necessarily vitamin tablets. I tried but I only tried two brands. Then I went and found a chewable. It is a little more expensive but there were no disincentives to taking it.

There WERE no disincentives. But now it is improved and, like Krispy Kremes, it belongs in that very, very rarely used category of �much too sweet.� I do not like treacle with my Cheerios. I do not like treacle at all.

So thank you, THEY, but no thank you. And if you get any other ideas about improving my stuff, please call first.

LAST YEAR: Return of Raccoon?

TWO YEARS AGO: Weather or Not

IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
Finding My Ladder (Yuck!)
The Interviewer
A Claim to Fame Gone
Rachel Usurps Leah
Sounds of Silence

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!