UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-08-09 - 10:22 a.m.

WHAT IS IT ABOUT SISTERS?

What is it about sisters? Why will I do things with sisters that I would never do by myself�and who can I blame for the aftermath? Today I feel like I�ve been run over by a double-trailer truck and it�s my own fault. Still, if Maxiegirl weren�t mixed up in it, I�d have been more sensible.

Despite multiple sclerosis, I�m a reasonably active person. I have a touch of the family restlessness and sometimes I just have to move but I pace myself. But, if I�m a brisk breeze, Maxiegirl is a tornado. I go to theme parks once in a while and never more than one in a week. I arrive when the park opens and usually am home by no later than six, just as though I had a curfew. Maxiegirl arrives when the park opens and stays and stays. As soon as her children, Sister and Brother, are both older than ten, I expect that she will shut the place down. And she can do it two days in a row.

Now, to be fair to Maxiegirl, she did not twist my arm. I had a rental car and I could have left. There was room for Day-Hay in Maxiegirl�s car. I was a big girl�and I wasn�t. I was bound and determined not to be a wimp in Maxiegirl�s eyes. If seven year olds could keep up, I could keep up. The Texas heat required staying wet (and getting chafed but that�s another story) but I could do it. I would do it. I would not be a wimp. (Apparently, being an idiot was more acceptable to me as I did it for several hours two days in a row.)

And younger sister? She gently tried to bring me to my senses. She applied an emotional slap�but it was too gentle. I felt it and kept right on being an idiot. I reveled in being an idiot. I was going to ride that tornado right to the end of the line. I was NOT going to be a wimp.

And I wasn�t. I was an idiot instead.

Luckily, the heavens look out for idiots. Now that we are home, I had promised to take Day-Hay to the state fair today. She did not want to go. She�s smart enough to admit she�s too tired and I�m ecstatic. I need the slow day today.

I�d also say that I�m glad that idiocy does not appear to be hereditary but if Kat had wanted to go to state fair�we�d be on our way.

What is it about sisters?

LAST YEAR: Money Lies

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!