UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-10-02 - 9:50 p.m.

ACCESSIBLE

Today my boss informed me that we will be getting replacement computers before too long at work. That�s the good news. The bad news is that the new operating system (I assume it�s XP) will not support Filemaker Pro, the database program that I use for my case tickler system, keeping track of sick and other leave, timekeeping, conflict checking, and closed cases. I guess I�m going to have to learn Access in a real hurry.

Oh, joy, more pressure! My boss hates it when anyone is unhappy. I was very unhappy at the news and the lack of warning. My boss does not understand computers and does not quite comprehend that I will have to learn a new program, design several databases, and figure out how to import all the data between incompatible programs. She thought I just had to read one set of data with the new program. I�m not sure whether she quite gets it even now but she does realize how unhappy I am.

So, I bought myself a book on Access and I�m diligently studying it. I know what I need to do can be done but I�ve already discovered that I will have to change the way I print out my data. Filemaker Pro produced reports that looked like anything I wanted them to look like. Now I�ll have to do it the Microsoft way. Bill Gates apparently believes in creativity as long as you do it his way. I�m going from a good set of cray pas and unlimited paper to a coloring book. I can choose the colors but I have to stay within the lines.

When I first discovered Filemaker Pro, I felt powerful. Automating my timesheets and other items opened whole new worlds. I put in hours and hours but I loved it. Designing the databases was like doing math was in elementary school. It had structure, it gave clear answers, it was challenging, and it was beautiful. It was a welcome respite from a messy job with no clear solutions to problems.

This time, however, all I get for my trouble will be a new system to do what I could do before but not quite as elegantly. This time, development will be on the state�s timetable, not mine. This time, I am horrendously busy with cases and not feeling all that well.

I want to keep my Filemaker Pro. Despite the name, it�s more accessible.

LAST YEAR: Time and Space

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

War Paint
Longing for Green Stamps
Honesty
Inside the Box
The Right Question

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!