UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-10-03 - 6:53 a.m.

TRYING TO LOOK ALIVE

I learned a new computer program yesterday. It�s been on my work computer and I�ve been meaning to get around to learning to use it. I have a presentation to give at a conference on Thursday so I decided to try Power Point. Mastery comes later but I put together some very credible visual aids. Now all that�s left is to try to look alive.

The glitz of Power Point will not really help me much, unfortunately. Even a belly dancer could not enliven this presentation. I got stuck with a boring topic full of mind-numbing details near the end of the day. People would be better off just reading the outline but, because they mean to read it but never actually get around to it, I have been asked to present the material orally. I�m usually fairly creative about presentation but a topic such as �The Standards for Mental Commitments� is just too much of a challenge in the creativity department. I feel for my poor audience.

I figured that the least I could do is try to make some reasonably cool overheads. I originally thought about a computer slide show but computers at presentations are much more finicky than overheads and the only thing worse than a long, boring presentation is a long, boring presentation which begins with a woman at the front of the room spending ten minutes trying to get the cables right so the computer can be turned on.

Usually, I get very excited about giving presentations. I�m a teacher at heart. I may have changed professions (for the most part---because I still moonlight as a teacher) but I still love to teach. I love creating a presentation. I love getting up in front of the room. I love fielding questions. But I�m not excited this time.

I�ve done the hard work and it isn�t going to be enough. I guess I�ll need some luck. I guess I�ll also need some coffee. I�ve gone to drinking caffeinated beverages only when I have a migraine but I think I�ll make an exception on Thursday. It wouldn�t look good if the presenter falls asleep.

On second thought, maybe I will do that computer slide show but set the timing on manual. Perhaps clicking buttons would help me look alive.

* * *

As a postscript to yesterday's entry, I thought I should tell you that Day-Hay's teacher was very good about the whole thing. She just asked her to find a topic to write about.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!