UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-08-28 - 9:12 p.m.

ALL WET

Day-Hay has started Taekwondo in earnest. She�s taken a week of Taekwondo camp or two for several summers running but this year she has decided that Taekwondo is the sport for her. It makes her feel powerful. It�s an active individual sport that uses her strength of flexibility, precision, and memory for movement. What�s not to like?

What�s not to like is that Day-Hay hates showering afterwards. I have a child with an increasingly adolescent body with a child�s attitude towards bathing. I would think she was allergic to water if it weren�t for her love of swimming. Perhaps it is the soap that is the issue. Maybe the soap makers have an evil conspiracy going that I have not heard about. Perhaps Day-Hay has heard rumors that they put something in the soap that is guaranteed to make adolescent girls unpopular (although, for all that, I would think cleanliness would help with popularity.)

Actually, the more one watches, the more it becomes obvious that it is not the showering that is the problem. Once Day-Hay gets into the shower, she likes it there and stays for a long time. It is the idea of showering that makes her shudder. It�s the idea of interrupting what she believes should be her free time to get clean that bothers her. Never mind that she could be showered in half the time she spends fussy about the showering.

The shower tiff tonight was more than the usual token shower tiff, most likely because she is blowing off the stress of the start of school. Unfortunately, I�m not in the zen parenting zone tonight so she�s had to deal with an annoyed mom who is rapidly degenerating into a shrew. I�ve heard all her arguments about why she doesn�t need a shower and why she shouldn�t take a shower and even the red herrings about how she is never listened to and we don�t understand her and we live to pick on (dirty) children.

Hey, maybe she�s right she doesn�t need a shower...

She�s all wet already.

LAST YEAR: A Rose By Any Other Name...

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Paradoxically
Those on the Ground Floor
Finding My Rhythm
My Mother, the Potential Terrorist
Talk About Frustration

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!