UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
09/06/2006 - 5:55 p.m.

BEGINNING AGAIN

And so the year begins again---and so do I. I know that, technically, the year starts in January and not in September, at least for the general public, but winter has never seemed the real start of anything. As a Jew, Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year, which comes around this time of year, seems closer to my reality. Even though I now work year-round, the return of children to school brings with it a new beginning and a new routine.

How is it going so far? Well, so far so good. I'm writing again after a long, long silence. I don't know why I stopped. I don't know why I have started. Heck, I don't even know why I did it in the first place but here we are. I'm not sure what I will write about. Kat is off at college and she was always one of my best subjects. It's not that she did more, it's that she is a writer herself and very open. She understood when I wrote about her. She even enjoyed it. Day and FogieKnight are far more private. Much of what happens at this house now must stay at this house.

I'm managing to get up at 5:40 a.m. again after a long summer in which I did not have to match my schedule to children or schools. This year, Tuesdays and Thursdays will be even earlier. The good news is that Day worked very, very hard on her voice and auditioned her way into the high school's chamber singers. The bad news is that chambers singers meets at 6:20 a.m. and she'll need a ride. (She, of course, has pointed our that she would not need a ride if she had a car. Nice try, child.)

I'm a little buried at work but I'll manage. I'm writing my way out. I'm reading my way out---at least as much as a public defender with a high case load ever gets out. Sometimes I wish I could eat my files, just as Lucy ate those chocolates. Of course, if I tried it, it would not work any better for me than it did for her.

And so, I begin again. Let's hope the renewed hope takes.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!