UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-12-26 - 11:49 a.m.

FROM CHEERIOS TO DESTRUCTION

There are no more Cheerios. Life is just one tragedy after another on vacation. This morning there were Cheerios for those who awoke and came to breakfast before 10:30 a.m. But latecomers get no Cheerios and Kat is sulking.

Kat hates routine and she needs it. Remove routine for four days or so and Kat becomes a thunder cloud. Great noises roar forth and the air around crackles with electricity. Her eyes narrow and the blue disappears just as blue sky disappears into grey at an approaching storm.

Ididn't eat the Cheerios. Although I eat Cheerios almost every morning of my life, I was adventurous this morning. I reheated a crepe my nephew made last night and wrapped it around the wonderful fruit soup my sister-in-law's mother made. Vacation is a time to live a little dangerously. I was not disappointed. To be accurate, breakfast was heavenly.

But not being the one who ate the Cheerios will not save me. It does not matter that we do not create a storm. We still need to seek a quiet place to wait it out. Heck, for some storms, building an ark is wise.

So, I'm hiding in my brother-in-law's study. When enough time has passed, Ill send out a dove to see if there is any dry land. But I won't look for a rainbow. I don't want to hear any promises that can't be kept.

From Cheerios to destruction. Well, it could be worse. I could have a pair of gerbils in here with me.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!