UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-04-05 - 8:44 a.m.

I CAN SEE CLEARLY NOW

My arms are not too short any more. They still are short. I long ago reconciled myself to having stubby fingers, stubby toes, and short limbs. At least I can do a jumping jack now. When I was small, I couldn�t get my hands to meet over my head. But I�m more proportional now. But best of all, my arms are not too short for holding reading material. Aren�t new glasses wonderful?

I have new frames as well as new lenses. I wish I could have gotten something a little more stylist but they are showing much smaller glasses this season and I need a larger bifocal area than can be placed on small glasses. I asked the opthamologist whether my sense that small glasses did not work as well was imaginary but he assured me that it was real. He also assured me that my dislike of no-line bifocals (or progressives as I have for my sunglasses) was rational too. So bigger glasses it is. I�m all for fashion but not when it interferes with function. (I�m more of an engineer than a model at heart.)

But all of that does not explain why I have new frames. True, my old frames were getting a bit banged up but Lenscrafters assured me that I could replace the lenses at least once more although probably not more than that. Still, replacing just my lenses was going to cost $265. Replacing my lenses and getting the new frames was going to cost $265. Lenscrafters was having a sale: $100 off frame and lenses�and the frames I liked cost exactly $100. Convenient, eh?

And the net result is that I can see a book even though I do not have gorilla arms like my husband and children. So what if my arms and hands end well short of my knees? They are back to being perfectly functional and functioning perfectly. Sometimes the little things (like little fingers and toes and arms) are enough.

I can see clearly now�short arms and all.

LAST YEAR: The Rhythm of Vacation

Influence and Control
Day-Hay�s Bat Mitzvah Speech
New Again
Silenced by Visions
What Can�t Be Undone

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!