UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2004-06-03 - 3:59 p.m.

NEEDING A CLONE

This week is one of those weeks where I am not always sure where else I am supposed to be but I know that I am supposed to be in at least two places at any given moment. The first week of June traditionally is like that. Everyone wants to get in their activity before the school year ends and parents, if they do not want to be bad parents, simply run from place to place.

Take today for example---please. The day started with taking Kat for a sleep-deprived EEG. This test is a June ritual. Usually, I try to schedule it later in June but I had to do it early this year. I had to get it in before the end of the school year because she will be gone all summer. (When I told her to get a job, she listened. I just did not know that it would involve leaving home all summer.) If she is sleep-deprived, you can bet that some parent stayed up to make sure she stayed up. Only in my household do adults stay up to make sure that teenagers do not go to sleep at night.

The new EEG tech uses �paste� rather than a cap and stickies so the next order of business was washing out Kat�s considerably thick hair. She requested help and I gave it. It took two shampoos to get the gunk out. I should have been sleeping but there I was washing. As tired as Kat was and as difficult as she still finds hair-washing, I figured I should help.

Then it was nap time, although I should have been doing laundry so that Day will have clean jazz pants to wear for dancing tonight. I did sneak the laundry in. She will have her white top to wear for the orchestra concert (which was supposed to be last week but got moved to this week for some unknown reason.) Day does not normally play in the orchestra but the orchestra teacher dreams of symphonies and symphonies require flutes.

Then I tried to make a condolence call but I just missed the woman I needed to see. I will be going back after Day gets home, just when I should be picking up dinner. (Yes, I am being bad and not cooking. Never underestimate the occasional power of �Subway� in giving help to the time-deprived.) I will pick up dinner when I should be setting out Day�s dance recital costumes for rehearsal. Luckily, I managed to get them shortened last night. I rushed so that I ended up dropping and breaking my iron (but, thank goodness, not my foot or any other body part) which meant the project was not a total loss.

After picking up dinner (somehow) and making the condolence call, I have a supposedly quick school board meeting. It starts at 5:00 and I have to be home by 5:50 or none of us will have dinner. We have until 6:20 or so to eat and then we have to be at the middle school for the orchestra concert (or at least three of us do. Kat has a thespian�s meeting and now that she can drive, she will go to that.)

The concert ends at 8:00 or so. I have special permission to pull Day early, as soon as she is done with her numbers, because she has a dance recital rehearsal at 7:50 for hip-hop. (Yes, I know those times do not line up. I did not say today was easy.) Poor Mr. Philately will either have to walk home, find a ride, or come with us.

Oh, and did I mention that I just got a call from Day informing me that elections at her youth group were changed to today and could I please pick up Day and her best friend at her best friend�s house and take them there (with her best friend�s mother driving them home.)

I think I need a clone.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!