UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-08-21 - 7:01 p.m.

COMING TO THAT CONFUSION

Because the pockets available to her, as to many other females, are inadequate, Kat occasionally carries a purse. If there is an art to carrying a purse, Kat�s purse carrying is at the stick-figure stage. The first skill required is to carry the purse and she can manage that one. The second skill is to remember to carry it home after you carry it out. She�s still working on that one. So it did not surprise me that I had to turn around immediately upon arriving home and go back to a local restaurant to retrieve her purse. Still, I sighed. �Kat,� I told her. �I am beginning to think that we have to staple that purse to your forehead.� �I am pretty much coming to that confusion myself,� she replied.

She is not yet in the running for the part of Refugee from the Home for the Hopelessly Confused but at times like tonight I begin to wonder if she is auditioning for the part. She has the confused part mastered but I don�t think she has the hopelessly down yet. I still have hope for her, especially if I get out the heavy-duty stapler.

I do know other people who forget everything everywhere and it may be in her genes. Her father is a bit absent-minded. That�s it. I�ll blame this problem on his side of the family. Never mind that Kat�s Aunt Maxiegirl leaves items behind wherever she goes. When Maxiegirl visits, a trip to the post office usually follows her leavetaking. But the trip to the post office is Mr. Philately�s problem and he loves post offices so he probably does not mind. The purse is sometimes my problem (at least until Kat passes her driver�s test which is coming up in the next month.)

Speaking of her driving test (and don�t you love the segue? You didn�t even know we were talking about her driving), what about the car? If I loan her the car will I have to staple her to its seat? I am not concerned about her driving distances that she will have to drive back from but will I be sending her over to closer ones to retrieve the car. I can see it now.

�Kat, where�s the car?�

�Oops! I must have left it at the high school.�

�So how did you get home?�

�X gave me a ride.�

No, even Kat would not be that ditzy. I must be coming to the wrong confusion.

LAST YEAR: My Mother, the Potential Terrorist

TWO YEARS AGO: on vacation in Detroit


IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
What Price Glory?
Who IS She?
The Minyan Snatcher
You�ve Come a Long Way, Boys
I Am NOT Frodo

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!