UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-05-28 - 9:35 p.m.

CONTACT

A year ahead of my schedule, Day-Hay has gotten contacts. The opthamologist upset my plans. He took the contacts decision from the realm of vanity and into the realm of a solid medical reason. After sitting through two of the last three optician lessons on putting in and taking out contacts, I�m ready to call for a plague to be visited on the otherwise nice man.

Most people are surprised to discover that I am not a patient person. They watch me with kids and assume that I must be patient. But the kids know better. I have a lot of strengths but lots of patience is not one of them. Sitting in a chair and keeping my mouth shut except for the occasional encouraging word as a twelve year old tries and tries to put in the contacts and then tries and tries to take them out was agony for me. Luckily, the woman at the optician�s has all the patience I lack and then some. After 45 minutes of the attempts, she can still calmly and optimistically say, �That attempt was a lot better.�

But tonight Day-Hay was allowed to take the contacts home. The lessons were over. It was time to begin for real. They�ll take a little getting used to as she has the rigid gas permeable ones rather than the soft contacts. Apparently some research suggests that the rigid gas permeable ones may help stabilize deteriorating vision. Day-Hay doesn�t care why. She just cares that she has them NOW. Me, I�m busy praying that I remember to use what patience I possess.

It helps that Day-Hay is so enthusiastic. She bounced around Baskin-Robins asking anyone she knew, �Do you notice something different?� I could have told her that most males do not really notice such things but she had to learn it for herself. One asked, �Did you do something different with your hair?� She snorted in disgust and told him what was different. �They�re nice,� he said with little passion or conviction. The only girl there oohed and aahhed.

And then it was time to take them out. The first one gave her trouble. She threatened to start crying. �Crying might make it harder,� I said. �And then you�ll still have to get them out.� (Have I mentioned that I also am a bit short on sympathy?) She calmed down and got it out. The second one followed immediately. I breathed a sigh of relief.

Day-Hay feels she now is making contact with her natural beauty. I just hope I can continue to make contact with my patience�at least until she gets good at this.

LAST YEAR: Under the Microscope

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!