UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-12-19 - 9:18 p.m.

COOKING DAY

Tomorrow is cooking day. I�ll be making two vegetable lasagnas to take up to Mr. Philately�s family on Saturday so my sister-in-law doesn�t get stuck with all the cooking. Someone alert the fire department. Someone alert the emergency room. Someone stay home to watch that I don�t deliberately mess up so no one will ask me to cook again. (And I wonder where Kat learned creative incompetence.) Yesterday I baked cookies. Tomorrow I bake lasagna. Is there no end to the suffering I must endure?

Except when in extraordinarily domestic moods, I don�t bake, I buy. I once explained patiently to the PTO that when they wanted their bylaws revised or something organized, I might be their woman. If they wanted baking, they should talk to Day-Hay. It didn�t exactly work. Now they ask for bylaws but they still ask me to bake for the bake sale.

I�m no domestic goddess. I�m not even a domestic engineer. I cook reluctantly and clean only when hygiene absolutely demands. Yes, I�ll sew but that�s more of a hobby than a household necessity. Ever since I learned a lot about alterations and something about design, sewing�s been a creative enterprise as cooking for people who prefer microwaved cheese quesadillas to pasta with fresh spinach pesto could never be.

Still, a woman must sometimes prove she is, well, womanly in some sort of socially acceptable way. Food is caring, isn�t it? In my sister-in-law�s universe cooking for her is one of the best gifts if you do it reasonably well. And I do want her to feel loved because I love her. I just wish I could find a more fun way to do it than cooking lasagnas.

So, tomorrow after I get my haircut, I will do something uncharacteristic. I will turn into Susie Homemaker. I�ll make the red sauce, the lasagna noodles, and all the rest. My kitchen will smell like someone else lives here. Mr. Philately will come home to a kitchen that smells like someone cares. And he�ll be so disappointed when I decide I�ve cooked enough and I make reservations.

It�s a good thing he thinks I�m cute.

LAST YEAR: That�s the Ticket

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

I�m Tired
Too Good
Retreating in Time
Reconnecting
Reducing Swelling

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!