UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
09/14/2005 - 8:06 a.m.

IN THE DARK

When I was a child, my family owned a book of riddles. All of the riddles were silly and just the type of riddle that seven year olds are very fond of. Today, I remember one in particular. Question: Where was the cat when the light went out? Answer: In the dark. So, where was I when the light went out? Answer: In the dark. Question: Where was my family when the light went out? Answer: Over at the Conservatory of Music in the light. They were not in the dark until they came home.

We had a storm with high wind that swept through the area around dinnertime. In the eighteen years we have lived in this town, I do not ever remember seeing trees bend over like that. The lights flickered several times but they held. Dinner was late because I did not want to get it started and have the power go off. The storm passed, we had dinner, and everything seemed fine. Day had voice lessons and I was going to take her but she suddenly indicated that she would need help with an assignment when she got back. Mr. Philately quickly agreed to take her so that I could get in some exercise before they got back. He�s been very supportive of my exercise program, especially since we discovered that it (and medication) dropped my blood pressure by almost 60 points or so.

So off they went and ten minutes later, the power went off. It flickered back on just long enough to give me hope and then was gone. The exercise tape was no good to me. The computer was unavailable. I had no light and I was alone.

I was not in as bad shape as some might be. I had a lot of flashlights and the two camping lanterns. I had a radio that, although tinny-sounding, worked. I could have gone elsewhere because I could see that there were lights across the street. But I stayed. I turned on the radio to discover that there were lights out across town. I settled in.

I�ve been in power outages before. I was in a massive one in New York and several in the Detroit area. When I was a teenager living in New Jersey, we had several outages. I remember packing for camp (as a counselor) by lantern once. But I was never alone.

Oh, yes, I know that, in a broader sense, I was not alone. I truly believe that no one is ever all alone. But there are times one appreciates human company and tangible reminders of togetherness. As far as I know, Buddy-the-birdbrain does not play cards. Neither does God, at least as far as I know.

But Day and Mr. Philately eventually came home. Day worked out an outline for her paper for Law and Government by lantern and we chatted until it was time for bed.

And then, after midnight, we heard the television and the lights came. Where are we today? In the light.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!