UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
07/09/2004 - 9:15 p.m.

DECAPITATION AND OTHER CHEERY THOUGHTS

Sometimes decapitation sounds like a good idea. No, I don�t want to kill myself. As I have explained a few times in my life, my personality tends more to the homicidal than the suicidal. I do not usually turn my anger in---much to the chagrin of those around me. No, the problem is more basic. I want to live. I just want to do it without my head.

Why is a head so necessary after all? Yes, I know it houses the brain but Mr. Philately and I have long joked that we only have one brain between us and it sometimes is all too obvious which one of us does not have it. Usually, I would say that he does not have it. I have been carrying it around most of the time all these years of our marriage and perhaps it is time for him to start. He could safeguard it for us and, when he gave it back, I could install it somewhere else, I�m sure.

The problem, you see, is that I have a migraine. After three days, it is beginning to fade and, until this afternoon, I was perfectly functional with it. I just did not like functioning. The truth is that if I had had to tough out this afternoon I could have done so. But Mr. Philately was kind and offered to ferry Day and her friends around from program presentation to dinner and back to program presentation downtown. Considering their propensity for singing �Applause, Applause� at the top of their lungs I am VERY grateful. His act of kindness just might be enough to get him another shelf for his stamps. Might be.

And I am getting very tired of my head, at least the left half of it. I�ve always thought that the right half of it was more attractive anyway. Right now, with my hair cowlicky from pushing it back and rubbing it against the pillow, neither side is very attractive. But in the dark, who cares?

But enough of my whining and back to the issue. What of decapitation? I�ve been thinking of it on and off for hours, when not sleeping and not too nauseated to think. But I can�t get past the potential mess.

And I�m hurting too much to even THINK of cleaning.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!