UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-04-15 - 4:46 p.m.

I�M DOOMED

I took Kat to see Sun today. Sun is the woman who cuts my hair. Sun usually cuts Kat�s hair. We took the prom dress with us so that Sun could help Kat decide what to do with her hair on the all-important day. Sun showed Kat several options. Then we figured out the date and tragedy struck. Sun is unavailable that day. Mom will have to do the hair.

Sun, to her credit, immediately gave some additional, slightly less difficult options (although she did warn me that one of them would take at least an hour of prep time.) She came up with some gorgeous suggestions that will not depend on careful pinning of Kat�s very, very thick hair. I just need to find some fancy clips but there�s always Claire�s. (For those of you not in the know, Claire�s is filled with enough glitzy jewelry, hair things, purses, and body lotion to warm any tween-ager�s heart.) She showed me what to do, explained the importance of hair spray, and now I�m on my own. It will be cheaper but I think I was ready to pay for this one.

It�s a good thing Kat thinks she�ll do her own makeup. I�m not sure I can take any more prom chores on right now. The pressure is killing me. I still have to hem the dress (although I got the dreaded buttonholes done and it turned out to be relatively easy on my new wonderful sewing machine�nothing like the chore on the old one.) I have to press the dress. (No, pressing a dress after sewing it is NOT ironing. I�d NEVER iron.) I have to hem the dress. I have to find the hair clips. (Somehow, I lucked out on jewelry because Kat already owns the perfect earrings.)

Remember when I admitted that I liked to play with hair? Can I take it back now? I�m about to have to play with hair under the pressure of having it perfect. No woman ever thinks her hair is perfect. I�m doomed.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!