UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2001-12-11 - 7:20 a.m.

IN MY DREAMS

Some people require less sleep as they get older. I do not appear to be among them. I used to be able to stay up late and pop out of bed raring to go. No more. After a very late night school board meeting, the best I can do is to inch out of bed in a fog.

I feel as though I was run over by a bus�and the meeting was not nearly as rancorous as I was expecting. A large group of parents had been hoping to move the fourth grade from one school to another. The very preliminary report suggested that there was room but the kicker was that there was room only as long as we did not accumulate three or four more senior kindergarten students over the summer. We typically do accumulate that many kindergarteners. Besides, if we move the grade, we need to know that it would stay put for several years and the numbers don�t suggest we can make that assumption.

I did sleep in a little but today is one of those days I�ll just have to get through. I have a meeting at work that I cannot miss and Day-Hay�s band concert. At the rate I�m going, I�ll have a full-fledged headache in an hour. A band concert will be just lovely, I�m sure.

And yet, I�ve put in papers to run again. Day-Hay wanted me too. The kid�s taken some guff over various issues but she says she trusts me to do what needs to be done. I do hope she doesn�t mean she trusts me to do it today. I�m having trouble typing, let alone thinking.

So I�m whining about being tired and craving a nap. I apologize to anyone who was expecting pearls of wisdom instead. The only way I want to give you those is in my dreams.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!