UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-03-21 - 3:48 p.m.

NEEDING A LITTLE EXERCISE

�Plankton is the type who wears a silk blouse to change the toner in the copier,� said a co-worker to a colleague. This co-worker knows me fairly well but she got it wrong. I would never wear a silk blouse to change the toner. I just change the toner regardless of what I�m wearing. Besides, I�m new to silk blouses and have not yet acquired sense.

Since I lost some weight last summer, I�ve been particularly interested in clothes. There�s something about needing a whole new wardrobe and liking the way that clothes fit that has brought out the more fashion-sensible side of me. But the change is a surface change. I can�t quite grasp that nicer clothes might mean that some tasks should be left to others. Nor can I bring myself to be fashionable when it�s not comfortable.

Day-Hay, my shopping child, loves my new interest in clothes. She likes to shop for herself but she seems to enjoy shopping for me equally well. She has a keen eye. From a very early age, she learned to pick out tags that showed an outfit was in her size. She also has an eye for bargain racks. Given how anxious she is between her upcoming Bat Mitzvah with its requirements and the current Iraq War, I plan to take her shopping today. She needs something to get away and shopping is as good as anything else I can think of.

Mr. Philately seems pleased with my newfound interest in clothes as well. I doubt that he really is pleased about the clothes. I think what�s he�s pleased with is my attitude toward myself. While he dresses quite nicely, he�s usually a jeans guy. He�s always acted as though he thinks I�m at my cutest in exercise clothes when I am all sweaty so I doubt his sense of style is the reason that he�s pleased.

Whatever the motivation, of late I�ve been helping the economy a bit more than usual and I still have no spring wardrobe that really fits. I still need a few tops.

After all, my wallet could use a little exercise.

LAST YEAR: Life�s Unfair

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

War
Keys, Glorious Keys
Keeping Above Water
Cooler By the Lake
Waiting Time

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!