UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
09/10/2004 - 3:19 p.m.

FOR KAT

I saw a real class act this morning. It may have been the best acting job ever. It was Kat�s and I am very proud of her. With all of her academic accomplishments, her musical ones, and her writing, I do not believe I have ever been prouder of her.

Kat does not dabble; she has passions. One of her biggest passions is theater. If she went to an ordinary high school, she probably would be in most of the school�s productions. But Kat goes to a school with an elite theater program and she�s in a class that follows a lot of talent. At the beginning of the year, before the try-out for the fall play, Mr. M. pointed out that there were only four people in the current student body who he had ever cast in a play. (Kat, who played Poppy in Noises Off! last year was one of them.) For a school that runs fall and spring plays (which Mr. M casts) plus a musical (which someone else casts), that statement was saying a lot. So, Kat has faced a lot of frustration.

Kat has faced so much frustration that one of her short answers on the college applications she is working on begins, �Everything I need to know about perseverance I learned in [my high school�s] theater program.� While she has been at it, she has learned a lot about disappointment too. She has worked very hard and she was hoping that the graduation of the class above her would create opportunities.

And then she learned about this year�s fall play and the musical. (The spring play has not been chosen yet or, if it has, has not been announced yet.) The musical will be Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. In a high school where, as in most high schools, most of the actors are female, doing this musical is a mistake. It relegates virtually all the girls to the chorus. That left opportunities for non-choral parts to the fall play. The fall play, The Nerd has only two girl parts. One clearly was planned for L. and the romantic lead most likely would go to A. All that was left was a part of a brat which Mr. M was planning on doing as a girl. But the brat is a kid and Kat is too tall, too well-developed, and too old to play a kid.

Poor Kat! There is someone here who can play that role and it is not her. It is Day and Kat knew it. Deep down, she knew it. Kat struggled for years to get into any play. Once again, Day was likely to walk right in and experience success her first time out. Kat was loving enough and generous enough to help, lending her expertise in blocking to her younger sister.

And Day�s physicality and Kat�s wonderful eye for directing won out. As I waited outside the high school theater this morning, I figured it was coming. Even before the girls knew, I knew. I saw Day�s only real competition check the cast list and slump. I saw the girls walk up. I saw the hug Kat gave Day---and when I did not see Day bounce off the walls I knew. Day was in---and Kat was not.

Both girls came out to the car to tell me. Kat, in a masterful performance, expressed her joy for Day and was believable. The only hint of her own disappointment was a joking suggestion that perhaps she should strangle her sister for the walk-on success but it was good-natured and just right for expressing her feelings but leaving Day free to relish her moment. (If Kat had said nothing at all, Day would have been anxious that Kat was very upset.) She walked back in, arm around Day, and then they separated.

It was a classy act from a classy person. I�m glad she�s my daughter.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!