UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
02/15/2005 - 7:54 p.m.

SOUND AND FURY

For the past few weeks, I have been bemoaning the fact that, of late, the girls have not been getting along. Part of it is overtiredness and the pressure of the play. Part of it may be that Kat will be leaving and they are working on separation. Whatever it is, it has been noisy, annoying, and full of fury. I have spent many days wishing and hoping that we could all just get along. Be careful what you wish for�

Today the girls have been getting along. I had forgotten what it is like when the girls are getting along. They are not much quieter and they wrestle. They behave like puppies�or brothers. This one blocks that one in the narrow hallway down the middle of the house. That one manhandles this one as we go from the car to the restaurant. As Kat pointed out, if not getting along is the fury, getting along is the sound---and both the sound and the fury are tales told by idiots. (Well, not exactly idiots but you get the idea.)

I have no idea how long this hiatus in the struggle will last�or is it the return of normalcy after the struggle? Is it that my children are settling down or have they united only around the one thing that often unites children: driving their parents crazy. They even are back to agreeing that I can be an embarrassment, worse than any embarrassment one can be to the other.

And what does all of it mean? Who knows? Who cares? If this be enjoyable, I plan to enjoy it. My new motto (my very new motto, my so new motto that I have not had time to even consider making it into a bumper sticker) is "live for the moment for tomorrow may come the fight." Still, I cannot help wishing that there was just a little less wrestling.

So that's my house today�full of sound and fury and signifying nothing.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!