UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-08-18 - 11:13 a.m.

THE GEEZERGAZETTE

Sunday morning is a time for waiting for the paper. No, not the �New York Times.� The �Times� is fine but the ink comes off everywhere. The �Times� is much better read on the Internet as it is far less messy there. No, not the �Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel.� While that paper is okay, its quality slips constantly and I find myself more interested in the ads than the paper some weeks. (Oh, yes, and the comics but I usually have to wrestle those away from my daughters and husband.) The paper I wait for is more personal than that. I await �The GeezerGazette.�

I�ve waited for that Sunday paper most of my adult life�even during my college years. It wasn�t known as �The GeezerGazette� then. Over the course of its life it has been the �Trafalgar Square,� �SeventySomething,� and perhaps something else that I am failing to remember. How it arrives has changed too. In the early days, it came as a carbon copy and it came by mail, full of typos that were hard to correct. Later, it came as a word processed document but it still came by mail. In the mail delivery days I had to wait from Sunday to Tuesday or Wednesday but I still waited. Today, it comes by e-mail, almost every Sunday.

As you may have figured out, �The GeezerGazette� is the family paper. My dad, the editor, has seen increasing circulation over the years. The original recipients were his children. Nowadays, the circulation includes nieces, nephews, an occasional sister-in-law of his, and a few other family members. With the advent of e-mail, the paper now occasionally includes short pieces others have written and have posted electronically elsewhere. Small pieces of this journal have shown up in it from time to time.

On one or two occasions, I�ve stepped in and produced �The GeezerGazette� as a guest editor, either when Dad has been ill or away. When I do it, it�s not the same. Somehow, I don�t think Dad stares and stares at the blank screen the way I do. He has access to a lot more information about far-flung relatives too.

But if you think that the paper only contains information, think again. Dad is a political guy. He writes his thoughts on politics, on religion, and on the state of the world. �The GeezerGazette� is his �Under the Microscope� except that it is once a week, more family-oriented, and existed long before this journal. My voice is different but my drive to put thoughts on paper is the same.

Some of the fun of Sundays is waiting for �The GeezerGazette.� I hope to be waiting weekly for a while to come. Thanks, Dad for it all.

LAST YEAR: No entry because I was in Detroit

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!