UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-10-17 - 8:53 a.m.

GET UP AND GO

The body is back, albeit with some aches. The mind is back although a wee bit unfocused. I can speak passionately again. I�ve even gotten some work done from home. Yet something is missing. I�m content to stay here. I�ve lost my restlessness. My get-up-and-go is hiding.

Mr. Philately thinks I�m going to have to kick-start it. He�s even offered to supply the kick. Better his kick than Day-Hay�s. Taekwondo has given that child quite a kick. Besides, he�ll get me going for something interesting or fun. She�ll send me off to Kohl�s to get her new boots. I don�t begrudge her the new boots. She needs them because she�s gone through the heel of the old ones. Still, my get-up-and-go could find better lures than getting Day-Hay boots.

Strange, I�m not sure I generally think of my restlessness as good. The restlessness does supply the energy for girl scouts, for school board, for a high-stress job, and for involvement in many parts of our family life. Often, though, the restlessness gets in the way of feeling calm and contentment. There�s always another problem to try to solve. There�s always another button to button and another zipper to zip.

I come by the restlessness honestly. My mother once commented that my father and his family rarely can sit still. When there�s been a death in the family (as there has been this week), Jewish custom calls for sitting shiva. After the funeral, the family sits at someone�s home and receives visitors for several days. At shiva, my uncles, my grandfather, and my father always reached the point where they needed to go out for a walk. They craved movement. They were restless.

Although my grandfather once commented that his father left the old country where he could not make a living and moved to this country where he could not make a living, perhaps it was restlessness that got them here. Goodness knows my great-aunts Sarah and Rose had enough energy for an entire boatload of people. I�m not quite as energetic as they were but I�ve never been much for cocooning.

So, the inertia has to go. My get-up-and-go is playing hide-and-seek and it�s time to find it�before I have to note that my get-up-and-go has gone up and went for good.

LAST YEAR: Why Me?



LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Second Mothers
Nice
Fog
The Waterworks Factory
Receiving

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!