UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-08-31 - 3:17 p.m.

I�LL NEVER GROW UP

The Prime Minister just came flying at me. I haven�t had a Prime Minister fly through the air at me for a long time. Actually, thinking back, I don�t think I�ve ever had a Prime Minister come flying through the air at me. He looked a lot like a penguin, a beanie baby penguin,and, when things calmed down, I discovered he was not the Prime Minister after all. He was just some flunky. Shesh, I can�t even get hit by the real Prime Minister. What a life, what a life! I�ll have to keep trying.

Now, I suppose you are wondering why a non-Prime Minister came flying through the air at me and why I�m not terribly upset. I suppose I should be the adult and tell the person who just heaved the anteater or aardvark or whatever to cut it out. But I don�t want to be the adult. I want to be the troublemaker�and I am doing a darn good job of it.

I�m enjoying hearing sounds I haven�t heard for a long time. Kat and Day-Hay are playing an elaborate game with all (or most of) the beanie babies. There are kingdoms and princesses and prime ministers and magicians. They are all over the floor in the living room. The computer is in the living room too. I can sit and type and make trouble. I�m in heaven.

If you�re wondering how to make trouble, well, at my house it just requires a quick juvenile wit (or the willingness to say things that just border on things someone might say on drugs) and a few remarks. When I hear, �Head magician....� I say, �Where did the rest of your body go?� When I hear �We want the moon in the heavens as a present for our daughter,� I say on behalf of the beanie baby in Kat�s hand, �Well, I�ve mooned many. I guess I�ll just have to figure out how to do it up in the heavens.�

At first, your teen and tween daughters will giggle. Then you shut up and type for a while, biding your time. The game continues and then you start up again. You time how long it takes before a leopard comes flying your direction. As time goes on, and you keep heckling from the audience, the animals come flying two by two.

And when you�ve really, really gone far, you are honored by a visit from the flying real Prime Minister and you know that they�ve figured out the problem of the moon in the heavens.

And no, I�ll never grow up.

LAST YEAR: The Concert Tickets

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Bear Mountain Perspective
Delicate Balance
All Wet
Paradoxically
Those on the Ground Floor

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!