UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-02-06 - 7:33 p.m.

FAR FROM THE HOME I LOVE

I think I live in a little beige house with brown trim. I know it�s a little house�although only by neighborhood standards. I�m just not sure about the beige-with-brown-trim part. You have to see your house in the light to see the color. This week, I�ve barely seen my house in the evening. I�m only home to sleep.

Monday night, I intended to relax at home. That ambition flew out the window and crashed in the bushes when a co-worker informed me that dance class was having parents� visiting week. Usually, I am right on top of the dates for such things but with the broken arm, the play, and someone�s unfortunate tendency to stuff notes below smelly ballet slippers, I missed the information. Still, a good mom goes to parent visiting day. So, good mom that I was, I abandoned my original plan and eased into my role as perpetual audience.

Tuesday night, I also intended to relax at home. The biography project punched me in the nose. Day-Hay needed a 300-page biography and she needed it by Wednesday morning. It wasn�t enough to know who she was going to study. She had to have the book in hand. Mr. Philately was off giving blood so Day-Hay and I trudged off to the library. (Actually, we didn�t exactly trudge. The old van trudged. The new Camry zips�although I�m not the one who didn�t realize that fact and got the speeding ticket.)

Wednesday night, I knew was not going to be a relax-at-home night. Our school district shares administrators with our neighboring district and both districts need to hire a single, new buildings and grounds guy. I know nothing about buildings and grounds guys but I�m on the joint committee anyway. We had a meeting to screen resumes, decide who to give screening interviews too, and to decide on the questions and requisite presentation for finalists. I think I irritated the men on the committee because I insisted that a building doesn�t know that it�s a school. Experience with buildings is experience with buildings. Of course, when they saw a resume that they liked that lacked any building experience at all, it didn�t bother them. I love living in Wonderland.

The evening activity alone couldn�t have dragged me from home for so long that I don�t remember what the facade looks like. No, working late helped. I�ve turned out three petitions for review in four days. The shortest was a 14-page paper. Thank goodness for word processing! In the old days, I would have had serious hand cramps. Not so thank goodness for the new computers with XP and a new version of our word processing program. I do not recommend finding the glitches for the computer department contemporaneously with pouring out word processed work.

I don�t know what I want to drop but something has to give. I don�t like being so far from the home I love.

LAST YEAR: Sorry, I Was a Good Student

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Something More
Columbia
Leveled
For Their Time
36 Years

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!