UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-01-06 - 9:12 p.m.

HYPOTHERMIA

Last Saturday, the whole family attended a First Aid and CPR class. For Kat and I, the class was a matter of recertification. For Day-Hay and Mr. Philately, the class provided their first certification. I�m sitting here at the computer feeling very glad that everyone is so well trained because they may be facing their first real-life test in a few minutes. You see, I�m wearing a heavy sweater, I�m wrapped in a polar fleece blanket pulled up over my head like my bubbe (great-grandmother) might have worn it, and I�m freezing. Hypothermia, here I come!

�Some say the world will end in fire, some say in ice,� said Robert Frost. He voted for fire as the more likely end to the world. My own personal world seems likely to end in ice. Forget the supposed fires of hell. I�m coming to believe in icy punishments.

I don�t know why I get so cold. For Wisconsin, it�s not particularly cold outside. It�s not even abnormally cold inside. The problem may be related to time of day. In the morning, I�m usually fine. I�m usually reasonably warm in the afternoon as well. But in the evening, something happens and I begin to freeze. By the time I go to bed, I shiver under the covers and flannel sheets for more time than anyone should.

I don�t remember being this cold this consistently last year. Maybe it�s those 20+ pounds I lost. Maybe it�s older age. Maybe I�m the Snow Queen and I�m slowly turning to ice. Whatever it is, I need a personal heater. Mr. Philately makes a dandy heater but sometimes he�s not available. Besides, he really doesn�t like icy hands or feet on him. Apparently, there are unreasonable limits to his love for me.

In any event, I�m glad the kids know what to do the day that Day-Hay comes home from dance class or Kat comes out of her room after doing the dreaded geometry and one of them discovers me shivering, incoherent, and glassy-eyed. That knowledge may save me.

Until then, does anyone know of a heated keyboard? At least then my fingers would stay warm. Considering how much I like to type, aren�t they the important part anyway?

LAST YEAR: B-O-Y
The entry about Kat�s previous boyfriend

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

The Little Something
The Darkest Hour
Mock Trial
Defending Spaces
Not One-Size-Fits-All

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!