UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-10-02 - 8:01 p.m.

JUDITH

Kat uses her middle name, not her given first name. Her middle name is not biblical but her first name is. Nevertheless, she believes that she should have a different name. She occasionally tells me that her other name is Sam, for Samuel. But she is no Samuel. She�s more of a Judith.

True, like Samuel, she is the child who came after infertility and prayer and, true, she came to the synagogue at an early age but she was never surrendered there�except maybe to the choir. Nor, to my knowledge has God called out her name. I know she has not anointed any kings, other perhaps than a few stuffed animals or beanie babies.

No, she�s not a Samuel although I would have named her that had she been a boy. If I made a mistake in choosing her name, and I don�t think I did, I should have chosen Judith�for Kat is beautiful, bold and courageous. She�s liked well enough by males that she could venture out from her village to wine and dine with Holofernes, the same Holofernes sent by Nebuchadnezzar to take over her town.

While deceit is not her strong point, acting is. I could see her flirting and giggling and batting her eyes if she were on stage even though she rarely does those things off stage. I could see her curling and arranging her hair, putting on makeup, and dressing in something special�as long as she thought of it as her costume.

But more than that, I could see her cutting off his head, although she would be better at doing it with her tongue than a sword. (She probably would slip with the sword and cut off her own finger.) She has that fierceness and that intensity. She has that belief in her causes and her purposes. But that�s in her causes and purposes.

Unlike Samuel, she would never ever let her mother dedicate her to a purpose.


IN CASE YOU MISSED THEM:
Toehold
I am Afraid
Wanting to Want
Barbie
Mistakes Were Made

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!