UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
11/09/2005 - 7:30 p.m.

THE CARE AND FEEDING OF KATS

Kat's roommate has asked a very good question about the care and feeding of a Kat. Most of the time, Kat, like other cats, is independent and sensible. Sometimes, however, the excitement of life causes her to forget the importance in her life of regular food, regular sleep, and regular medication. When that happens, the kitten in Kat can get free reign. Unfortunately, that kitten is a bit crazed.

Approaching the kitten inside requires taking care. Kat likely will be fine. But a wounded kitten can hiss�loudly. Wounded kittens can lash out. One must be a bit careful and take the noise with a grain of salt. Whatever happens is NOT personal.

Strangely enough, what the wounded kitten needs is petting. No, do not run and get boys. Boys are rarely of much help. Get out your hand and stroke her head. Better yet, rub her back as hard as you can. Kat and her inner kitten love what her occupational therapist called "deep pressure." You and I call it a very firm touch. Rub her back and she's probably your friend for life�even when her inner kitten is not crazed.

If all else fails, sit on her. No, I haven't lost my mind. I mean it. Here's where Kat and any other self-respecting cat part company. Cats want to be free. Upset Kats like to be captive, sort of. You can push a couch cushion or a pillow against her. If neither are available, you can just lean against her---hard. When she would tantrum as a small child out of frustration or sensory overload, I would put a couch cushion or bean bag chair on top of her and lean on it. Strange, I'll grant you but it works. Soon, Kat would have a there there.

And when the inner kitten has calmed down? Remind her she is independent and sensible but she needs to eat regularly, sleep a lot (like any other cat), and take her meds regularly.

A Kat is a wonderful pet to keep around. I highly recommend it. Usually a Kat is not very high maintenance. But once in a while�.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!