UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
09/15/2005 - 8:05 p.m.

KEEPING CONTACT

Last night, Day was writing a paper for her Law and Government class. She wanted some help editing it. So what did she do? She IMed Kat. Between email and IM, Kat helped her by editing the paper (except for the one structural problem that she turned over to me. Organization is my specialty, not Kat's.) It was amazing to watch them. Kat edited the paper from four hours away. The wonders of technology!

IM has changed my life and I didn't even really start using it until two years or so ago. Suddenly, it cost nothing to "talk" to friends who lived far away. I talk to friends. I talk to Kat. I talk to nieces. I�m a fast typist so the typing doesn't slow me down much at all. I also can multitask. I�m writing this entry, for example, while chatting with Bev. (Blame any typos on her because she's distracting me.)

I find it amazing. I remember being in college and saying my money so that I could run up an occasional phone bill talking to my family. Kat won't have that. Yesterday afternoon, we even had a group conversation. Rob was online from work (because now that Kat's at college he's discovered IM too), I had the living room computer, and Day had his laptop. And, in my youth, I thought the possibilities when there was more than one phone were exciting!

But I still use computers like a girl. I can do the technical stuff but what I really want is to use them to keep contact.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!