UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
10/23/2005 - 8:18 p.m.

A KISS IS STILL A KISS

We have reached a new low. I am sitting here writing while FogieKnight is working on his computer in the dining room. If asked what we did with our evening, we may be forced to answer, "We IMed each other from different rooms of the house." It could be worse; we could be IMing from the same room as Kat's roommate apparently did yesterday. Who would have thought that college (or just everyday living) could result in a deterioration of verbal skills? (Thank you, FogieKnight, for that thought.)

The reason FogieKnight and I have on AOL, of course, is that we both are trolling for Kat. It's something like fishing in a big pond. You set up your line with bait and wait. (Or, perhaps in this instance, you set up your bait and wait with your line�something like, "What's up?") Once upon a time, we would have called her if we wanted contact�or waited for her to call. (Waiting for her to call might take until she wanted something because she has a phone phobia.) But now there are computers with email and IM. Contact with college kids can occur fairly quickly�and on their own time zone. (I am aware that Kat is at college someplace that technically is in the same time zone. I also am aware that I go to bed early (usually) and get up early (usually)---something she prefers not to do.)

AOL lets me know that I am not alone. As I am IMing FogieKnight, I see Dr. Road come online. He too is online far more than he used to be. He too is trolling for a child at college. I am not guessing here. I have IMed him once or twice and discovered that he, like me, was hoping for contact with a child, not a friend. We've settled, briefly, for a quick conversation with each other and likely will again.

Frankly, I'll be surprised if this entry makes any sense at all. I usually can multitask but I'm tired and cold and easily confused tonight. Still it's fun IMing with FogieKnight tonight, in the way that our verbal sparring and word play can be fun. I'm just trying to figure out how to end it with its usual kiss.

Hmm, guess I'll just have to get up and go in there. Talking may be able to be done in new and exciting ways but�

A kiss is still a kiss.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!