UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-02-01 - 8:13 p.m.

LEVELED

Notes from school sometimes are a shock. When a parent is keeping up with things, report cards should not be, especially in this day of a telephone in every classroom. Yet once in a while, a surprise shows up. Sometimes, I suspect a deliberate hit-and-run.

No, it was not a surprise to me that Kat was not working up to her potential in her Honors English class. I knew that she strongly disliked the teacher. I met the teacher at Open House and again at conferences and I expected problems. Speech tends to be a subjective subject and she seemed the �nice� type whose words fail to match her feelings. While I have some trouble with the �nice� type, Kat has terrible trouble with the �nice� type. The �nice� type expect to be able to say the right words but count on you to determine their true intent from tone, context, and body language. Kat has very great difficulty reading tone and body language.

I also know that when Kat�s attitude is bad, it�s often very bad. She tends to be very disorganized. While her disorganization has improved quite a bit, organization for her requires constant vigilence and effort. Once she decides a teacher is not worthwhile, her organization and effort tend to fall apart. If the teacher has some sensitivity or has a sense of humor, the situation is redeemable. If the teacher doesn�t, I�ve occasionally been able to mitigate the effects of Kat�s attitude. But that requires communication.

Still, I was shocked that when a student�s grade for this quarter has improved, albeit marginally, from last term, the teacher would slip into the semester report card the words �[l]evel placement should be evaluated.�

Perhaps the teacher has good reason for her recommendation. I doubt I would agree with her if I had all of her reasons. I know I don�t agree with her with only that suggestion. I also know that if she believed the situation was that serious, she should have contacted me. I know that after Kat is no longer in her class and she has not talked to either me or Kat is not the time to drop that bombshell and run.

I�ve written to her to tell her so. I�ve been as diplomatic as I can. I�ve been �nice.� Now it�s her turn.

But I expect that after her response, I�ll still think she should be leveled.

LAST YEAR: Picture Perfect

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

For Their Time
36 Years
Losing My Mind
A Time for Every Purpose
Here Comes Atticus

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!