UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-10-31 - 4:31 p.m.

IT�S ALL IN HOW YOU LOOK AT IT

For the past two days, I�ve come home from work and napped for several hours. Staying awake long enough to make it through a work day has been a monumental task. Until last night, when Mr. Philately complained, to a lesser extent, of the headache, muscle aches, and other assorted pains and fatigue I also was having, I assumed that perhaps the stress of surgery had made the multiple sclerosis flare up a bit. �Hallelujah! I�m sick,� I said. �I feel much better.�

Day-Hay was puzzled. �Mom,� she pointed out. �That statement makes no sense.� I had to explain to her that physically I really didn�t feel much better at all but psychologically I did. Viruses, nasty as they can be, come and go. Viruses of the type I seem to have leave no lasting damage. I can give in to a virus because it is temporary.

Deciding I was acutely sick freed me to miss work today. While I desperately need to get things done because I have missed so much work this week, taking a day off to try to sleep off a virus usually pays off. When the MS flairs up, extra rest makes very little difference and I either need to gut it through or come up with a longer term plan. I didn�t post last night because once I decided I was sick, I just went to bed. It took me until now to post today because I slept most of the day.

Tomorrow, it looks like I will be enough better to re-join the world free from the fear that the fatigue will get worse. In fact, I expect that it will be better. I�ll go into work for a while even though I don�t normally work Fridays just to try to catch up. Then I�ll go with Day-Hay�s class on a field trip to a play. I like to volunteer for the field trips to plays. They usually are very easy to chaperone.

I�m sick. Is that bad? In a way but still, I�m grateful I�m just sick. It�s all in how you look at it.

LAST YEAR: On the Road Again

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Thank You, Mary
The View From the Bottom
A Cosmic Joke
I Can Only Take One Baby...
Old Friends in New Ways

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!