UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2003-01-27 - 6:40 p.m.

LOSING MY MIND

I�m losing my mind. I�d like to blame it on Mr. Philately. We�ve said for years that there is only one brain between us and somedays it is all too obvious who doesn�t have it. But I don�t think I�ll find my brain in the head of the guy who came home from work and in his rush to get to stage crew ate my sandwich. (I couldn�t return the favor. His was poisoned. It had pickles on it.) No, I think it�s lost.

I told Day-Hay yesterday that I thought I was losing my mind. She did not dispute my claim. She�s been watching me. But she wasn�t sympathetic either. She told me that if I�d put it away in its proper place, I�d be able to find it. Just for that one, I should have put her lipstick on her cheeks when I did her makeup for Fiddler on the Roof tonight.

What exactly are the symptoms of losing my mind? Well, a mind is a terrible thing to lose. Yesterday, Mr. Philately went over to the tech/dress rehearsal early and I was to bring Day-Hay. Kat was coming to help with a few last minute items. We got in the car. I put the key in the ignition. I went to turn the key in the ignition. It wouldn�t turn. I tried wiggling the steering wheel as that action helped with a problem ignition in the old Corolla. Still stuck. I wiggled again. Nothing.

I picked up the cell phone and called Mr. Philately who promised to come get us. I removed the key, turned to Kat, and then I realized. �Kat,� I asked. �Which car are we in?� I then picked up the cell phone and dialed. �Never mind, love,� I told him. �You have an idiot for a wife.� I put the correct key in the ignition. I turned it. The car roared to life.

Today was not any better. We had a computer upgrade at work. I now have XP and an updated version of all of my other programs, including the database program. My computer seemed to be running just fine but some other people had gremlins. One couldn�t access e-mail. One couldn�t access the server at all. So it didn�t surprise me when one of my programs didn�t seem to work correctly.

I opened up one of my databases. My database used to come up automatically but I had had to search for it today. There was data there but all my forms and reports were gone. Some of the data seemed wonky. �ARRGH!� I yelled in frustration, doing my best Charlie Brown imitation. �The computer conversion has wiped out hours of work.� I heard sympathetic murmurs that heartened me so that I sat back down at my computer. Then I realized. That database used to have a different name. I had opened an early version of the database that I had intended to trash long ago. The real database was just fine.

So, if you come across a brain just lying by the highway or, more likely, a mind that�s lollygagging in a ditch somewhere, please let me know. It might be my mind, trying to find it�s way home�and suddenly remembering it left it�s feet elsewhere.

LAST YEAR: Loving Dipity



LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

A Time for Every Purpose
Here Comes Atticus
Torpor
Twist and Twist Again
I Should Have Known

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!