UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-12-03 - 7:34 a.m.

JUST ANOTHER MANIC MONDAY...

Mondays are just crazy around here. The mornings are no different than any other weekday morning except that everyone is a bit out of routine. The children seem to have a slightly greater difficulty making sure that they have everything but we are fairly good about setting things out on Sunday night. What makes Mondays impossible is what happens after school.

Yesterday was even worse than a typical Monday. For one, Kat has a geometry test today which meant that she had to have her other homework done in time to work on geometry with Mr. Philately in the evening. She also had a vocal workshop, a preparation time for vocal auditions for the school musical, �Evita.� (Yes, I know it is a very strange choice but that�s a topic for a different entry.) The workshop was supposed to end at 4:00. I also was supposed to pick up Day-Hay at 4:00 and get her to Bat Mitzvah tutoring by 4:15. The afternoon began with a schedule that required synchronized watches.

Unfortunately, our watches were not synchronized. Heck, Kat doesn�t even wear a watch (unlike Day-Hay who sleeps in hers.) I was at the high school by 4:03. I waited there until 4:10. No Kat. I had to leave to drop off Day-Hay. I figured that Kat would call my cell phone and I�d arrange to come back and get her. I sat through Day-Hay�s entire tutoring session. No call. I tried calling home (because Kat can take the city bus home.) No Kat. I told Day-Hay that we�d best swing by the high school again.

So I cleared the snow off the car and off we went again at 5:00. As I left, I thought I�d have to drop by the school, pick up Kat, drop Day-Hay at dance class, and swing back home. Somewhere on the way over, Day-Hay informed me that she thought that she should go to play practice rather than dance class. (Yes, her schedule yesterday was so bad that she had two things scheduled on top of each other.) Because it was snowing and play practice is much closer, I embraced that plan once I stopped the awful, gear-grinding noises I make when asked to turn on a dime.

Luckily, there was Kat, asking where I had been at 4:00 because she was sure she had been right where she was supposed to be. Maybe she was and we just missed seeing each other. Maybe the mistake was a failure to synchronize clocks. Whatever it was, I had her and I took her home. Luckily, she didn�t have much homework other than studying math.

I then called Mr. Philately. I decided that it was time to share. He was headed off to play practice anyway so he could pick up Day-Hay and drop her over there. He was coming back earlier than she was so we�d still have a Day-Hay and milk pick-up run but it would be one less time I had to go slip-sliding on our streets. He agreed. That agreement allowed me to make a half-hearted dinner. Soup anyone? We got Day-Hay, listened to Kat melt-down over frustrations with math and her parents, listened to Day-Hay�s sympathy melt-down, and it was over.

I wish I could say yesterday was atypical but it wasn�t. It was just another manic Monday.

LAST YEAR: News of Shrinky Dinks

LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

The Limits of Might and Power
The Act of Creation
Why I Should Not Divorce
Turkey for One?
An Urge to Reboot the Helpless Guy

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!