UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-04-14 - 12:08 p.m.

Help! My real personality is missing and I want it back. The only clue was this note, typed in elegant font and left on handmade, scented paper.

Dear Plankton,

Hello, it�s me again, your secret self, the part you keep hidden. That�s right, it�s me, Martha Stewart, your other personality! You should have realized that I would emerge again and this time, I�m not planning on leaving. You are in my hands, the ones with the little gloves with the hand-sewn pearls, forever. You never should have let me out at all but you did. And I have a few more plans for you.

Yes, sewing Kat�s prom dress from blue satin was the start of it. While you once only attempted patterns that required minimum fitting and minimum alteration, I looked out your eyes and I saw what you were doing. I saw you make up that bodice in muslin first so you could adjust the fit. Yes, I know you thought you were being prudent. Yes, I know you thought you were being a good dressmaker, but who drove you to this elaborate project. No, it wasn�t your checkbook. You could have afforded a prom dress for the girl. It was the glory of people admiring it and having Kat say, �My mother made it.� It was me, me, me, me, your inner Martha.

[NO PICTURE�TOP SECRET]

Now, about those bandannas. Yes, you know what bandannas. The girl scout troop bandannas for Chicago. You had an opportunity to just buy the blue one. Day-Hay told you the plain blue ones would work. But I�d started flowing out of your innermost soul through the crack made when you started that prom dress. I wrenched through the hole you opened when you entered Michaels. I had you. I knew I had you when I turned you around and you spotted that green fabric spray paint. Look what I made you do:

Next, I knew I needed help. I knew that making team t-shirts for the Battle of the Books team was my type of project but I needed something over the top to gain total control. I called out my secret helpers, Day-Hay and her teammate E. They in turn called to Kat and this project became big, big, big. It involved fabric paint. It involved elaborate drawing (and, dear, it�s okay that you drew from a book that showed you how. After all, I am a crafts person, not an artist.) It involved glitter. What you produced was inner Martha at its finest:

Now that I�m out, you�re in trouble! I�ve noticed the mis-matched furniture in your living room. (I�ve also noticed all the clutter all over your living room floor but that�s no problem. I�m Martha. I hire people to do the dirty work�and boy is that dirty work!) I know that May is coming and I�m dying to get at those flower beds. (No, don�t take the word �dying� as an invitation. Killing me won�t help. You can�t kill me. I�m a soul. I�m eternal.) We could even gussy up the bird cage together and, while we�re at it, get some additional parakeets to coordinate with every room of your house.

No, you can�t stop me. You thought we could strike a deal over that prom dress but you were wrong. Your body and soul are mine and I�m not giving them back. We�re together forever and it will be glorious.

Love,
Your Inner Martha

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!