UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-03-12 - 5:19 p.m.

THE CURSE OF MAXIEGIRL

It�s Maxiegirl�s fault. It wasn�t enough that she bought gerbils for her own kids. I thought Maxiegirl suffered from the curse of the gerbils and I laughed. I misunderstood the nature of the curse and I laughed too soon. The curse is not unique to gerbils. The curse is on any animal that Maxiegirl purchases for any child. I�m not laughing anymore.

Maxiegirl just had to buy a nifty gift for Day-Hay for the holidays. She just had to buy her a silkworm farm. While that gift wouldn�t have been my choice, it didn�t seem so bad. After all, I cope with birds and fish. The silkworms seemed self-contained. This week, they began making cocoons. It was interesting. It was educational. It was disaster waiting to happen.

This morning there were three silkworms: one hanging out and eating, one already in a cocoon, and one spinning a cocoon. This afternoon, there are two: one hanging out and eating and one already in a cocoon. Despite a bad migraine, I just spent the last hour with a flashlight going through Day-Hay�s closet and looking in corners. No cocoon. No silkworm. An unhappy Day-Hay who is threatening to sleep in the living room from now on. I guess worms are interesting and okay only as long as they stay put.

I called Mr. Philately but, for some unreasonable reason, he does not consider the situation a crisis. He�ll see if he can find it later, he says. While I�ll appreciate the help, I�ve already shuddered each time I encountered one of the many dust bunnies in her room and have had a silent cringing moment at each rubber snake in her closet. I�ve never wanted to be the princess waiting for my knight in shining armor type but I�d make an exception today. Unfortunately, I couldn�t interest Mr. Philately in playing. He�d rather play thank-goodness-I�m-at-work-and-away-from-the-madness�not that I blame him. I just wish I could play that game too.

So, I�m living in a house with a big, fat, three-inch white worm on the loose and looking for a corner he can call home. I do hope that he�s made it out to the road and is seeking a way to Texas as I type. If he doesn�t encounter one of those weird Texas insects, he might just make his way to Maxiegirl�s house. If he writes and tells his siblings what a great place she�s got there, I might just buy them plane tickets to join him.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!