UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-06-27 - 8:36 p.m.

This entry is a collaboration for On Display. The assignment was to write an entry made up entirely of song lyrics. The assignment seemed beyond me but I had two guests who volunteered to take up the challenge: Kat and Day-Hay. Their theme is the death of a local shopping mall, Northridge, that has gone from thriving large mall to ghost town over the last ten years. The words in parentheses are the name of the song the lyrics come from.

MEMORIES

The Way We Were

We�re in the money (We�re in the Money)
One, singular sensation (One)
And he showed me things, many beautiful things (I Know Things Now)
Baubles, bangles, and beads (Baubles, Bangles, and Beads)
Every morning, every evening, ain�t we got fun (Ain�t We Got Fun)
Bringin� da noise (Bringin� Da Noise)
Lookin� at the crowd (Larger Than Life)
Those were the days my friend, we thought they�d never end, we�d sing and dance forever and a day (Those Were the Days)

The Times They Are A-Changin�

And then bang! crash! and the lightening flashed! (Witch�s Entrance)
Say it loud-�I�m black and I�m proud.� (Say It Loud-�I�m Black And I�m Proud�)
You�ve got to be taught to hate and fear (You�ve Got To Be Taught)
The line it is drawn, the curse it is cast (The Times They Are A-Changin�)
Slowly everything began to change (Give You Back)

The Sounds of Silence

Just yesterday morning, they let me know you were gone, Susan, the plans they made put an end to you (Fire and Rain)
Now I can see that we�ve fallen apart from the way that it used to be (I Want It That Way)
I say hey, what�s goin� on? (What�s Up 2000)
Beauty will fade and riches will flee (Life is a Toil)
So you sailed away into a gray sky morning (Best I Ever Had)
Fifteen cars and fifteen restless riders (City of New Orleans)
Seven days and not a return (We Are)
There is nothin�, yeah, there is nothin� (Beauty On The TV-Screen)
Will there be not a trace left behind? (The Last Thing On My Mind)
And now, the end is near, and so I face the final curtain (My Way)
It�s the last midnight (Last Midnight)

Please note that this is the Thursday entry. This morning�s entry was really the entry for yesterday.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!