UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-10-18 - 10:16 p.m.

THE MILDEW OF BOREDOM

Kat doesn�t panic on geometry tests. It�s just that she sometimes blanks out and just can�t think. I�m not panicking about my lack of a topic either. It�s just that I�ve blanked out and just can�t think. Staring at the white of the empty screen hasn�t helped. I�ve looked for inspiration. Inspiration just isn�t coming on cue. Inspiration is as easy to control as my children.

Perhaps Kat has sucked all of the inspiration out of the air. When I came back from taking her sister to taekwondo, Kat was on the computer and typing out a story. I�m not sure what she was writing because she has not yet finished it and I am not welcome to read it. She was typing away just as fast as she could (which is not particularly fast but she�s not been willing to put in the time and frustration to build her speed.) �I�d forgotten how wonderful it is when writing just clicks,� she said. I remember. I just can�t achieve that state.

Maybe it�s more that inspiration runs out when you�ve spent too much time focused on your own self and your own concerns. I�ve read newspapers but the stories seemed strangely far away. I�ve watched television but nothing really hit me. I�ve become embroiled in a school board controversy over class size but I still am not sure exactly what I think and therefore I am in no condition to write about it.

So, what you get instead of a piece with lots of content is this one. Have you noticed that in an atmosphere devoid of inspiration boredom thrives? Lack of inspiration is the dampness that allows the mildew of boredom to flourish�and it�s not my own boredom I�m ruing. It�s yours.

If I don�t find inspiration soon, I guess I�ll have to do what I did in the bathroom and get out the special paint. Do they make mental Kilz for the mildew of boredom?

LAST YEAR: The Group Tour



LAST FIVE ENTRIES:

Get Up and Go
Second Mothers
Nice
Fog
The Waterworks Factory

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!