UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
2002-05-12 - 5:00 p.m.

MOTHER�S DAY

It�s Mother�s Day. I suppose I should write a glowing piece about my mother or about my Mother�s Day but I just can�t bring myself to sell my soul to Hallmark or a florist. The more years go by, the more I think my brother has it right. Forget (or more accurately, reject) Mother�s Day. Let me be judged as a daughter more by the way I treat my mother the rest of the year. Let my children be judged by the way they treat me the rest of the time. Let �I love you and appreciate you� be a spontaneous statement, not one helped along by subtle (or not so subtle) cultural coercion.

It probably doesn�t help my Mother�s Day mood that it�s been gray, cold, and rainy all weekend. I bought myself some geraniums and impatiens at the PTO Mother�s Day flower sale and I wanted to put them into the garden but the weather has not cooperated. I�m not much of a gardener and if I don�t make some real effort at the beginning of the season, the place looks seedy all summer.

It�s not that I didn�t get a present. I did and it�s a very practical one, just as I wanted. My excitement over my adjustable keyboard tray for my office computer can�t match the excitement of my youngest sister over her laser level but it comes close. (We�re just such romantics�NOT!) I particularly appreciate the gift because my family picked out a nicer one than I would have gotten myself.

Still, the best gifts are even more unexpected. I consider it a real Mother�s Day gift that it is late afternoon on Sunday and all the homework is done. Not having to cope with the Sunday night homework panic is heaven. The girls have their heads bent together over Day-Hay�s beads, making beadie creatures of various kinds. They are peacefully and companionably working together. Mr. Philately is happy because his Brewers� are winning (at least for the moment.)

As Mother�s Days go, this one will do. Happy Mother�s Day!

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!