UNDER THE MICROSCOPE

NEW SPECIMENS OLD SPECIMENS THE SCIENTIST MY LOG CONTACT ME
09/08/2005 - 8:03 p.m.

NOT BUYING

You never know. You suspect but you never know. If anyone should have known, I should have known. After all, I was not above a bit of creative incompetence myself as a teenager. But, at heart, I was very competent. And so, apparently is Kat.

She has maneuvered through signing up through classes now. Quite a few freshmen apparently got caught out because they did not know to go to re-enrollment. They had been told that if they were closed out they would be notified by email on Tuesday night---and they were but not until after 11:30. Kat, knowing the oddities of email either checked late enough or the next morning, I'm not sure which. She then had to try quite a few different classes before she found one that would work, but she did.

The next impressive thing she did was get to the bookstore early. She reasoned that her best chance to pick up some used books and save herself some money was to get there while there still were used books. Good, organized thinking. Yes, I used the word "organized" in a paragraph about Kat. Who would have thought it a few years ago?

She also has figured out the phone system. She called today. She actually was looking for Day, who had called her. But Day had not called from home. Day had called from the high school theater to immediately tell Kat the news of what plays the high school would be doing. Kat was not so organized that she remembered that I had emailed her a list of numbers she needed but she did get me to tell her the cell phone number and either remembered it or wrote it down so she could call it.

(Never mind that Kat used that cell phone all summer. She did not know her own cell phone number. I guess she takes after one of her aunts who has similar problems and you can't expect a leopard, even a leopard Kat, to change her spots all at once.)

So, go, Kat, go! And don't you dare ask me what a washing machine or a casserole dish is ever again. I won't buy your act.

previous - next

|

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com
Copyright 2006 by Ellen

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

On Display Ring
[ Previous | Next ]
[ Previous 5 | Next 5 ]
[ List Sites ]

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!